Fast Facts

  • Website:
  • Capital: Eldoret
  • Governor: H.E Jackson Kiplagat Mandago
  • Deputy Governor: H.E Daniel Kiprotich Kiplagat


Uasin Gishu County lies in the mid west of the Rift Valley. It covers an area of 3,345.2 sq km. Temperatures range between 8.4 0C and 27 0C. The county has two rainy seasons with average rainfall from 900mm to 1,200mm per annum. It has 3 Local Authorities (Municipal Council of Eldoret, County Council of Wareng, and Town Council of Burnt Forest) Eldoret Town is the administrative headquarters. Uasin Gishu County borders six counties namely Elgeyo Marakwet County to the East, Trans Nzoia to the North, Kericho to the South, Baringo to the South East, Nandi to the South West and Bungoma to the West. Uasin Gishu County constitutes 6 constituencies (Ainabkoi, Moiben, Turbo, Soi, Kapsabet and Kesses).

Economic Activities

The county is very cosmopolitan particularly around Eldoret Town Kenya’s fourth largest town. The economy is dominated by agriculture and is one of the largest contributors to food security in Kenya. Wheat, maize and dairy are the leading farming activities. The county is home to many of the county’s top athletes. A number of training camps have already been established to grow and nurture new athletic talents.

The country has relatively well established infrastructure including Kenya’s third international airport that handles large amounts of cargo from the middle east. The airport gives the county an opportunity to grow and expand the export market. I has a broad industrial base particularly in and around Eldoret Town.