Fast Facts


Tharaka Nithi County is located in the former Eastern Province of Kenya. It covers an area of 2,638.8 sq Km and a population of 365,330 people as at 2009 census. Temperatures range between 11°C and 25.9°C. while rainfall ranges between 200mm and 800mm per annum. The county has 3 Local Authorities (Town Council of Chogoria, County councils of Meru South and Tharaka) with Chuka Town being the administrative headquarters. Tharaka Nithi County borders Meru County to the North and North East, Kitui County to the East and South East, Embu County to the South and South West. Tharaka-Nithi County host Chuka, Muthambi, Mwimbi and Tharaka sections of the Ameru (Meru) communityTharaka Nithi County constitutes 3 constituencies ( Tharaka, Maara, Chuka/igambangómbe).

Economic Activities

Tharaka-Nithi County has a fairly central location within Kenya an advantage that has made it a a transit-point for goods and services. It has arable land under coffee, tea and other horticultural products. The majority of people in the County are farmers who rely on rain-fed agriculture and livestock farming.

The discovery of iron ore and coal deposits has created new economic potential for developing extraction industries of these minerals and and related industries.