Fast Facts

  • Website:
  • Capital: Maralal
  • Governor: H.E Moses Kasainie Lenolkulal
  • Deputy Governor: H.E Julius Lesseto Lawrence


Samburu County is a county in the former Rift Valley Province, Kenya. It covers an area of roughly 21,000 km² (8,000 mi²) in northern Kenya where the Samburu,Turkana and many other tribes live. It borders Baringo and Laikipia to the South West, Turkana to the West and North West, Isiolo to the East and Marsabit to the North and North East. It stretches north from the Wuaso Ng'iro River to the south of Lake Turkana and also includes Mount Kulal which lies just east of Lake Turkana. The main towns in Samburu County are Maralal (capital and largest town), Baragoi, Archers Post, South Horr, Wamba and Lodosoit. Samburu County constitutes 3 constituencies (Samburu East, Samburu West and Samburu North).

Economic Activities

Inhabitants of Samburu county as predominantly pastrolists. However, a small percentage practice agricultural related activities in small scale primarily to supplement income from livestock related trade and as additional food sources.

The county hosts Samburu National Reserve endowed with abundant wildlife resources and a major income earner for the county’s economy. The county lies within the northern tourist circuit that has huge untapped tourism potential. It also homes Samburu National Reserve and Buffalo Springs National Reserve, Mount Ng'iro, Ndoro Mountains, Mathews Range (Ol Doinyo Lenkiyo), Kirisia Hills, and Loroki Forest.