Fast Facts

  • Website:
  • Capital: Nyamira
  • Governor: H.E John Obiero Nyagarama
  • Deputy Governor: H.E Amos Nyaribo Kimwomi


Nyamira County is located in the former Nyanza Province. It covers an area 899.3 sq km and a population of 598,252 (2009 census). Its capital and largest town is Nyamira, with an urban population of around 41,668 people (2009 census). Temperatures range from 10.1 °C to 28.7 °C, and the region experience a rainfall of between 600mm and 2,300mm per annum. The county has 4 local authorities (Nyamira County Council, Town Councils of Nyamira, Nyansiongo and Keroka) Nyamira Town is the administrative capital. It borders Bomet to the East, Narok to the South, Kisii to the West, Homa Bay to the North, and Kericho county to the North East.

Nyamira County constitutes 4 sub-counties (Borabu, Kitutut Masaba, North Mugirango, and west Mugirango).

Economic Activities

Agriculture is the main economic contributor to the county. Main cash crops are tea and pyrethrum. Others include sugarcane, bananas maize, dairy and livestock products. The county experiences experience relatively good weather patterns with rainfall occurring regularly throughout the year. However opportunities exist for development of large-scale irrigation schemes. + Read more...