Fast Facts

  • Website:
  • Capital: Nakuru
  • Governor: H.E HON Lee Maiyani Kinyanjui
  • Deputy Governor: H.E Erick Kipkoech Korir


Nakuru County is hosts the fourth largest town in Kenya and the administrative capital of the former Rift Valley Province. It is one of the most cosmopolitan counties in Kenya with a sizable population of Kenyans of Indian and European descent. It holds a population of around 1,6 million, living on some 7,495 square kilometers of land in the central part of the country. However, people from different regions of the country have added a unique flavor to the county. The county also holds a number of towns such as Lanet, Njoro, Gilgil and Naivasha a popular tourist destination. It constitutes 11 sub-counties (Naivasha, Nakuru town West, Nakuru Town E, Kuresoi south, Kuresoi North, Molo, Rongai, Subukia, Njoro, Gilgil and Bahati).

Located in the South Eastern part of the former Rift Valley Province, Nakuru County borders seven counties with Baringo to the north, Laikipia to the north east, Nyandarua to the east, Kajiado to the south, Narok to the south west with Bomet and Kericho to the west.


Temperatures range from minimum of between 120 degrees Centigrade to a maximum of 260 degrees centigrade. Rainfall ranges from 1,800mm to 2,000 mm per annum with the wettest season during April and May

Economic Acivities

Agriculture is the backbone of the county’s economy with food crops, horticulture and cash crops, dairy and beef as common products.

Tourism contributes to the county’s economy accounting for almost 70% of incomes to some of the sub-counties in the county. The county is famous for Flamingos at Lake Nakuru a pupular tourist attraction. However, it also host a large number of animal and other bird species. Opportunities exist in further development of Hotels, Resorts and Lodges to take advantage of the many tourists who visit the county.

The county enjoys favorable climatic conditions with forests cover in large sections. They are also sources of a number of streams and rivers draining to Lake Nakuru, Lake Naivasha and Lake Elementaita some of the country’s water catchment areas.

A sizeable manufacturing sector with potential for further growth exists in the county.

Hyrax Hill Prehistoric Site, discovered by the Leakeys in 1926, is considered a major Neolithic and Iron Age site. The adjoining museum features finds from various nearby excavations.

The second largest surviving volcanic crater in the world, the Menengai Crater is 2,242 meters above sea level at its highest point. The crater plunges 483 m down from the rim and the summit is accessible by foot or vehicle 8 km from the main road. The mountain is also surrounded by a nature reserve.