Fast Facts

  • Website:
  • Capital: Murang'a
  • Governor: H.E Mwangi Wa Iria
  • Deputy Governor: H.E James Kamau Maina


Murang'a County is located in Central Kenya. It has two seasons of reliable and well distributed rainfall throughout the year and temperatures ranges from 21 – 35 0C. The county's main office is situated at Murang’a town. It borders Nyeri County to the North, Nyandarua County to the West, Kiambu County to the South and Kirinyaga County to the East. It is inhabited mainly by and is considered the home of the Kikuyu, the largest community in Kenya. The county has a population of 942,581 (2009 census).Murang’a County constitutes 7 sub-counties (Kangemi, Mathioya, Kiharu, Kigumo, Maragwa, Kandara and Gatanga).

Economic Activities

Murang'a County is a predominantly an agricultural County. ( Tea, coffee, maize, beef and dairy products) It also host tourist attractions such as the expansive Aberdare’s forest one of Kenya’s water towers and home to varied fauna and flora. The county is a hub of trade and commerce in the region partly due to its proximity to Nairobi and its dense population.