Fast Facts

  • Website:
  • Capital: Mombasa
  • Governor: H.E Ali Hassan Joho
  • Deputy Governor: H.E Dr. William Kingi Kazungu


Mombasa County is located in the former Coast province. It hosts Kenya’s second largest city Mombasa and the sea gateway to East and Central Africa. Mombasa County constitutes 6 sub-couties namely Changamwe, Jomvu, Kisauni, Nyali, Mvita and Likoni.

Demographic Information

Mombasa county has a population of about 1.2 million and an estimated area of 294.7 square kilometers.

Economic activities

Mombasa boasts of the only seaport in Kenya serving both Kenya and its landlocked neighbors. Its transport system features an international airport, a railway system, a ferry system and a highway system making it well suited for its role as an import and export hub in the region. The county has has a vibrant economy and is known for its varying hospitality amenities and beautiful beaches that makes it a popular tourist magnet.

Mombasa county is also a Kenya's second major industrial hub after Nairobi with various industries such as mining, manufacturing, Energy (Oil Refining) set up at the county. The county is the major trade centre and home to Kenya’s only large seaport, the Kilindini Harbour. Mombasa is the centre for coastal tourism in Kenya with the major tourists attraction being historical sites like Fort-Jesus, Beaches, Water Sports, Mombasa Marine National Park among others.