Fast Facts

  • Website:
  • Capital: Meru
  • Governor: H.E HON. Kiraitu Murungi, EGH
  • Deputy Governor: H.E Titus Ntuchiu Mutea


Meru County is located along the eastern side of the Mt Kenya. Meru County borders Isiolo County to the North and North East, Tharaka County to the South West, Nyeri County to the South West and Laikipia County to the West. Meru is an agricultural county but also a business and educational centre for Eastern and North Eastern parts of Kenya. Meru County hosts the Imenti, Tigania and Igembe sub-tribes of the Ameru (Meru) tribe, which is related to other tribes living around the Mount Kenya region like the Kikuyu and the Embu communities.

Meru County is also home to minorities of Indian descent, who are mainly Hindus, and African/Arab descent, who are Muslims. Meru County is also home to some Europeans, predominantly British in ancestry. The Ameru generally fit into the "Bantu" group of people who have been native to the Mt. Kenya area for many, many years — well before colonization of Kenya by Great Britain in the 19th Century. The people of Meru County are now predominantly Christians with minorities of Indian descent, who are mainly Hindus, and African/Arab descent. Meru County also has some resident Europeans predominantly British in ancestry. Meru County constitutes 9 sub-counties (Buuri, Igembe south, Igembe central, Gembe North, Tigania west, Tigania east, Buuri, Iment central and South Imenti).

Economic Activities

Agriculture is a major economic activity in Meru county due to high fertile soils favored climatic conditions which includes heavy rainfall. Coffee, tea, Miraa (Khat)French-beans and dairy products as primary agricultural produce as well as other commercial activities. Meru county is also home to a number of National Parks and conservancies that serves as tourists attraction like, Mt. Kenya, Meru National Park, Meru Museum, Nyambene Complex, Lewa conservancy among others.