Fast Facts

  • Website:
  • Capital: Nanyuki
  • Governor: H.E HON Ndiritu Muriithi
  • Deputy Governor: H.E John Mwaniki Mathenge


Laikipia County lies on the equator predisposing it to cool temperate climates. It covers an area of 9,462.0 sq Km and receives annual rainfall varying between 400mm and 750mm and mean annual temperature of between 16 degrees C and 26 degrees C. It borders Samburu to the north, Isiolo to the east, Meru to the south, Nyandarua and Nakuru to the southwest and Koibatek and Baringo to the west. The county has 4 Local Authorities (Town Council of Rumuruti, County Council of Laikipia, Municipal Councils of Nanyuki and Nyahururu) Nanyuki Town is the administrative capital and it constitutes 2 sub-counties (Laikipia East, and Laikipa West).

Demographic Information

Laikipia County is home to ethnically diverse communities, including the Mukogodo Maasai, Kikuyu, and Meru, who live side by side with, Turkana, Samburu and Pokot. Approximately 700,000 people reside in Laikipia County. Crop farming, Cattle-rearing on large commercial ranches and community owned range lands has for many years been the life-blood of the community. As so much of Laikipia has traditionally been used for low intensity grazing it has become a cherished haven for big game. + Read more...

Economic Activities

Agriculture with a mix of crop farming and animal rearing is the major economic activity in the region. The county is known for its production of food crops among them; horticultural crops and cash crops. The county has vast open ranches that makes it conducive for livestock rearing although, further potential for growth of beef and dairy industries exists.

With diverse wildlife, private wildlife conservation areas and ranches have been established though not fully exploited.This makes Laikipia county a popular tourist destination.

The region has vast plains that are physically diverse and scenically spectacular, covered by open grasslands, basalt hills, lonely kopjes and dense cedar forests, fed by the Ewaso Nyiro and Ewaso Narok rivers.