Fast Facts

  • Website:
  • Capital: Kerugoya/Kutus
  • Governor: H.E Anne Mumbi Waiguru,EGH OGW
  • Deputy Governor: H.E HON. Peter Njagi Ndambiri


Kirinyaga County is located in the former Central Province of Kenya. Its capital town is Kerugoya town/Kutus with Wanguru being the largest town. By the year 2009, the county had reachd a population of 528,054 peolpe an area of 1,205.4 km². Temperatures range from a minimum of 12°C to a maximum of 26°C with an average of 20°C. The rainfall ranges between 1,100 mm and 1,250 mm per annum. Kirinyaga county has 3 Local Authorities (Municipal Council of Kerugoya, County Council of Kirinyaga, and Town Council of Sagana)and 4 sub-counties (Mwea, Gichungu, Nadia and Kirinyaga central).. The county also shares Mount Kenya and Mt. Kenya National Park which is a major tourist attraction. Kirinyaga borders Meru to the North, Embu to the North East, East and South, Murang’a to the South West, and Nyeri county to the West.

Economic Activities

Like most of neighboring counties, agriculture is the backbone of Kirinyaga’s economy with a mix of agriculture. Mount Kenya Forest/National reserve covers a large part of the county and is home to a large variety of flora and fauna, making it a major tourist attraction. The large labour force has made the county highly productive and major contributor to the national economy, a leverage that gives the county good prospects for further growth.

A number of financial institutions have also set up in the county to take advantage of the growing trade, commercial and services sector.