Fast Facts

  • Website:
  • Capital: Thika
  • Governor: H.E HON Ferdinard Ndungu Waititu
  • Deputy Governor: H.E James Nyoro Karanja


Kiambu County is located in central Kenya. It covers an area of 2,543 sq km with average tempratures of 18.7°C and 989 mm of rainfall per annum. The county is adjacent to the northern border of Nairobi County and has a population of about 1,623,282 people. The county has 8 (Municipal councils of Kiambu, Limuru, Thika, and Ruiru, County Councils of Kiambu and Thika, Town Councils of Kikuyu and Karuri). Kiambu town is the administrative capital. It borders Murang’a county to the North and North East, Machakos county to the East, Nairobi and Kajiado counties to the South, Nakuru county to the West, and Nyandarua county to the North West. Kiambu County constitutes 12 sub-counties namely Githunguri, Kiambaa, Kabete,Limuru,Lari, Gatundu south,Ruiru. Gatundu North, Kikuyu, Juja, Thika and Kiambu.

The county is predominantly rural, but its urban population is increasing as Nairobi is growing rapidly. Kikuyu are the dominant community in the county.

Economic Activities

With rich highland soils coupled with very favourable climatic conditions, agriculture plays a very important role in the county’s economy. However with is proximity to Nairobi and limited land resources, the services sector is slowly replacing agriculture as a major economic activity. However, the county is undergoing rapid urbanization due to high population, a good source of labor for industrial production and agricultural value addition or the services sector. The county also have good tourist attractions sites and forest resources conducive for Eco-tourism, camping and expedition sites.