Fast Facts

  • Website:
  • Capital: Kajiado
  • Governor: H.E Joseph Jama Ole Lenku,EGH
  • Deputy Governor: H.E Martin Moshisho Martin


Kajiado county was conceived after Kenya’s 2010 constitutional referendum that led to formation of the current 47 counties in the Country. The county is located in the former Rift valley province and covers an approximated area of about 21,900.9 square kilometers, consists of a number of administrative districts namely Kajiado Central, Isinya, Loitokitok, Magadi, Mashuru, Namanga and Ngong.The county is next to the capital city of Kenya, Nairobi and it neighbours Machakos, Makueni, Narok, Taita Taveta and Kiambu counties and extends to Tnzania border in the south. The county hosts , Kitengela, Ongata Rongai, Kiserian, Kajiado, Loitokitok, Namanga, Isinya, Sultan Hamud, Ilbisil and Ngong being the largest town.

Demographic features

Kajiado county has a population growth rate of 5.5 percent and an estimated population of 807,070 persons with 401,785 females and 405,245 males as at 2012 national statistics, with the main ethnic community of being the Maasai who are popular for their wonderful culture and exquisite art of jewellery making. The population is projected to hit a million by 2017.

Economic Activities

The main economic activities in Kajiado county are agriculture;horticulture,food crop farming,livestock production,dairy,beef production,hides and skins,poultry farming and tourism; the county hosts Amboseli National Park, making it a key tourists destination point. In an effort to conserve the environment, the county governmment encourages afforestation and has about 6,866.88 ha of forest cover.