Fast Facts

  • Website:
  • Capital: Garissa
  • Governor: H.E Ali Bunow Korane CBS
  • Deputy Governor: H.E Abdi Dagane Muhumed


Garissa County is one of the largest in Kenya: it covers an area of 54,000 square kilometers, which is slightly more than 9% of the total size of the country. Garissa County is lies in the former North Eastern province of Kenya. The county borders Wajir County to the north, Isiolo County to the north west, Tana River County to the west, Lamu County to the south, and Somalia to the east and north east. The county is low lying, with altitudes ranging between 70m and 400m above sea level. The area is hot and dry with temperature ranging from 25°C- 38°C, receiving rainfall in the range of 150mm -300mm annually. The County constitutes 6 constituencies namely; Garissa town ship, Fafi,Dadaab, Lagdera, Balambala and Ijara.

Demographic Information

Garissa county has a population of approximately 623,060 people, of which 334,939 are male and 288,121 female (census 2009), with most of the local residents being the Somali community.

Economic Activities

Although the area is arid and semi-arid, Garissa County has agricultural potential through irrigation by use of the Tana River that traverses through the county. Already along the river, some of the pastoralists Somali communities are turning into agriculture and making a modest living out of it. Some of the economic activities in Garissa county are livestock keeping, Trading, Bee Keeping, Sand Harvesting and Tourism.